آخر تحديث في نوفمبر 17, 2022

الصحراء مكان قاسٍ للنباتات بسبب الجفاف, الهواء الساخن وقلة هطول الأمطار. لنقل المغذيات من جذورها, عادة تتسبب النباتات في تبخر الماء من أوراقها في عملية تسمى النتح. ولكن في الصحراء, حيث يصعب الحصول على الماء, تكيفت العديد من النباتات لتوفير المياه.

يمكن للنباتات الحفاظ على المياه بعدة طرق: يمكنهم التحكم في كمية الماء المفقودة من خلال النتح, المبلغ الذي يمكنهم الحصول عليه أو المبلغ الذي يمكنهم تخزينه. إذا كان للنبات تكيفات تساعده على التكيف مع المناخ الصحراوي, نسميها أ نبات صحراوي, كلمة تعني "نبات جاف".

نباتات الصحراء, الأشجار والصبار
نباتات الصحراء

أي نوع من النباتات تنمو في الصحراء?

تشمل النباتات الصحراوية في الغالب العصارة, هذا هو, الصبار والنباتات الأخرى التي تخزن الكثير من الماء لمساعدتهم خلال المواسم الجافة. أثناء هطول الأمطار الخفيفة, هذه النباتات تمتص الماء بقدر ما تستطيع, تخزينه في مناطق تخزين كبيرة في الجذور, الأوراق أو ينبع.

بسبب قساوتهم, نباتات الصبار والعصارة شائعة أيضًا كنباتات منزلية إلى حد كبير في كل مكان هذه الأيام.

تعيش بعض النباتات الصحراوية وتنمو فقط خلال موسم الأمطار, إنتاج البذور التي يمكن أن تتحمل موسم الجفاف. تسمى هذه النباتات "الحولية" لأنها تظهر مرة أخرى كل عام. وهكذا فإن النبات البالغ, الذي يفقد كمية من الماء أكثر من البذور, يتجنب الحرارة, ظروف الجفاف في مواسم الجفاف الصحراوية.

آخر تعيش النباتات الصحراوية التي تسمى النباتات المعمرة لعدة سنوات لكنها قد تكون في حالة سبات أو نائمة خلال موسم الجفاف.

الكثير من النباتات الصحراوية لا تخزن كمية كافية من الماء, تموت أو تصبح نائمة خلال موسم الجفاف. في حين أن, هذه النباتات قادرة على تحمل أو تحمل أشد أجزاء العام حرارة وجفافًا.

الاقتباسات

زوجان من الحيل تساعد هذه النباتات على التعامل مع الظروف الصحراوية. تساعد الأشواك الحادة التي تراها نباتات الصبار وغيرها من النباتات على حمايتها من أشعة الشمس, إبقائهم هادئين, وكذلك حماية النبات من الحيوانات المفترسة.

بعض النباتات, مثل اشجار المسكيت, تمتلك جذورًا رئيسية طويلة جدًا تصل إلى أكثر من 100 قدم للوصول إلى المياه الجوفية, المياه المخزنة في أعماق الأرض.

لبعض النباتات, طريقة واحدة للتأكد من أن لديهم ما يكفي من الماء هو التخلص من المنافسة, هذا هو, النباتات المجاورة. نبتة تسمى "كريوزوتتنتج مواد كيميائية خاصة, أو السموم, التي تطلقها في التربة المجاورة.

تجعل هذه السموم من الصعب على النباتات الأخرى أن تنمو في تلك التربة. تسمى استراتيجية التكيف هذه "allelopathy" ويمنع النباتات التي من شأنها أن تستهلك إمدادات المياه من الكريوزوت.

تنمو الأزهار أيضًا في الصحراء, وعادة ما تكون بصيلاتهم قوية بما يكفي لتتمكن من ذلك تعيش في الأرض دون أن تتفتح لأشهر أو حتى سنوات حتى تحدث شروط الإزهار.

هذه الظاهرة ملحوظة بشكل خاص في بعض المواقع مثل صحراء أتاكاما حيث يكون هطول الأمطار نادرًا لدرجة أنه يحدث في دورات 3 إلى 7 سنوات, خلال ظاهرة "تتفتح الصحراء"قد يحدث مع أكثر من 200 أنواع من الزهور البرية تظهر كلها مرة واحدة وتغير شكل الصحراء بالكامل.

بعض الأمثلة على تكيفات نبات الصحراء:

  • أوراق أصغر مع القليل من الثغور (ثقوب) لتقليل النتح وفقدان الماء
  • يتم إجراء التمثيل الضوئي مباشرة في الساق بدلاً من الأوراق (على سبيل المثال. وسادات الصبار)
  • بعض النباتات تنمو الأوراق فقط خلال موسم الأمطار وتسقطها أثناء الطقس الجاف
  • الأشواك والشعر لتفتيت الرياح الساخنة وتوفير الظل للساق
  • أنظمة جذرية واسعة الانتشار لتعظيم امتصاص مياه الأمطار
  • يمكن لبعض الزهور الصحراوية أن تبقى نائمة كمصباح خلال سنوات الجفاف

نباتات الصحراء

أقل, أ قائمة نباتات الصحراء بالصور بما في ذلك الصبار الشهير, العصارة, الزهور والأشجار التي تنمو فقط في أقسى البيئات الصحراوية والحارة, المناخات الجافة.

الصبار ساجوارو (كارنيجي جيجانتيا)

الساجوارو عبارة عن صبار كبير ينمو في ولاية أريزونا ويعتبر رمزًا لصحراء سونوران. ينمو ببطء شديد, وما يصل إلى 75 قد تمر سنوات قبل أن تتشكل الفروع المميزة. تصل إلى ارتفاعات كبيرة, أكبر قياس معروف موجود 13 متر في الارتفاع و 3 متر في المحيط. يسمح هيكلها بتخزين كمية هائلة من الماء, يصل إلى 5 طن. طول العمر أيضا لا يصدق: يمكن أن ترقى ساجوارو 300 سنوات.

الصبار ساجوارو

الصبار الذهبي برميل

هذا الصبار موطنه الصحاري الأمريكية في الجنوب الغربي, وهي واحدة من أكبر المناطق في تلك المنطقة المعادية: انها ترقى الى 3.5 متر في الارتفاع, ويمكن أن تصل أشواكها 25 سم. كما أنها ترقى إلى مستوى 150 سنوات, ويمكن أن تستمر 6 سنوات بدون ماء.

الصبار الذهبي برميل

عضو الأنابيب الصبار (Stenocereus thurberi)

Stenocereus thurberi هو صبار عمودي يمكن أن ينمو إلى حجم كبير; يلقب بـ "صبار الأنبوب العضوي" بسبب سيقانه الأسطوانية المثالية التي تنمو على ارتفاعات مختلفة بشكل متماثل. جسمها الأخضر اللامع مغطى بأشواك كثيفة سوداء بنية اللون تخلق تباينًا جميلًا في اللون, وأزهارها الربيعية كبيرة وذات لون أحمر أرجواني مبهرج. إنه نبات بطيء النمو منتشر في الصحاري الصخرية للمكسيك والولايات المتحدة.

عضو الأنابيب الصبار

صبار الشعلة الفضية (كليستوكاكتوس ستراوسي)

موطنه بوليفيا والأرجنتين, ومن المعروف أيضا باسم شعلة صوفي بسبب أوراقها الفضية,والتي تتكون في الواقع من أشواك رقيقة بيضاء اللون. قد يبدو غريبا, لكن هذا النبات الصحراوي يعيش حتى في درجات حرارة منخفضة تصل إلى 14 درجة فهرنهايت (-10درجة مئوية). يمكن أن تنمو إلى ارتفاع ثلاثة أمتار, وفي أواخر الصيف تزين بأزهار أسطوانية حمراء اللون.

صبار الشعلة الفضية

مثلث بر الرجيد (أمبروسيا دالية)

هذا النبات, التي تنمو في صحراء سونوران, خاصة في المناطق الصخرية, يتميز ببنيته الشبيهة بالشجيرة, مع العديد من الفروع التي تتشابك عندما تموت, بعد البقاء في المظلة. وظيفة هذا النبات هي أيضًا حماية الأنواع النباتية الأخرى, توفير الظل, والنيتروجين في التربة. إنه غير صالح للأكل لأي نوع من الثدييات, ويمكن أن يسبب التهاب الجلد عند البشر.

مثلث بر الرجيد

القفز تشولا (Cylindropuntia fulgida)

صبار القفز هو نوع من الصبار الشجري الذي يمكن أن يكبر 13 طول القدم, مع الفروع المعلقة التي تربط بعضها ببعض. ينمو في جنوب الولايات المتحدة وولاية سونورا المكسيكية, حيث تنمو النباتات بشكل كثيف, تشكيل غابات صغيرة. وجود أماكن يصعب الوصول إليها في كثير من الأحيان وغير مضيافة كموائل, يظل عدد سكان هذا النبات مستقرًا, على الرغم من أنها توفر الغذاء والماء في أوقات الجفاف لبعض أنواع الحيوانات, مثل الأغنام الكبيرة.

القفز تشولا

صحراء أيرونوود (أولنيا تيسوتا)

أولنيا تيسوتا, المعروف باسم أيرونوود, ينمو فقط في صحراء سونوران في أمريكا الشمالية, وعلى الرغم من كونها شجرة يمكن الوصول إليها 10 متر في الارتفاع, إنه ينتمي إلى عائلة Fabaceae, مثل البقوليات. يجذب هذا النبات نوعًا معينًا من الخفافيش التي تهاجر عبر الصحراء بعد ازدهار الشجيرة من الجنوب إلى الشمال.

صحراء أيرونوود

مصنع البيسبول (الفربيون أوبيسا)

هذا النوع المضحك من النضرة موطنه صحراء كارو, جنوب أفريقيا, وهو للأسف نبات مهدد بالانقراض في البرية بسبب الحصاد العشوائي. يبقى دائما صغيرا, لا تتجاوز ابدا 15 سم في القطر, ونموها بطيء جدا. لها شكل كروي تقريبًا يمنحها مظهر كرة القاعدة, ومن هنا الاسم.

مصنع البيسبول

ويلتويشيا / شجرة تومبو (ويلويتشيا ميرابيليس)

نبات ذو شكل غير عادي للغاية موطنه الصحراء الناميبية, إنه طويل العمر بشكل لا يصدق مع وجود بعض العينات أكثر من 2,000 سنة وبالتالي تعتبر أحافير حية. الاسم العلمي هو Welwitschia Mirabilis ولكنه يُسمى ببساطة Weltwischia أو Tree Tumbo. على الرغم من أنه قد يبدو وكأنه نبات كثيف, في الواقع له ورقتان فقط, تنمو ملقاة على الأرض, يصل طوله إلى خمسة أمتار. تجف الأوراق في النهاية, بل تنمو باستمرار من القاعدة, يعطي هذا النبات الصحراوي مظهر مجموعة من الشرائط الخضراء.

ويلتويشيا / شجرة تومبو

نخلة الصحراء (واشنطونيا فيليفيرا)

نخلة مروحة الصحراء, المعروف أيضًا باسم California Palm, هي شجرة النخيل الأيقونية الأصلية في جنوب غرب الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك. يتميز بجذع عمودي بأوراق على شكل مروحة. على الرغم من أنها شجرة صحراوية, يتكيف بسهولة مع أنواع مختلفة من المناخات ويشيع استخدامه كنبات للزينة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

نخلة الصحراء

اقرأ أيضا: قائمة زهور الصحراء


رمز شعار Sand-boarding.com

مصدر المعلومات رقم 1 الخاص بك عن عالم الرياضات الرملية ورحلات المغامرات الصحراوية. مقالاتنا هي نتيجة بحث مكثف, خبرة شخصية, وتبادل المعرفة داخل مجتمع التزلج على الرمال العالمي.

Last Updated on August 7, 2022

The desert is a harsh place for plants because of the dry, hot air and lack of precipitation. To transport nutrients from their roots, normally plants cause water from their leaves to evaporate in a process called transpiration. But in the desert, where water is hard to come by, many plants have adapted to save water.

Plants can conserve water in several ways: they can control the amount of water lost through transpiration, the amount they can get or the amount they can store. If a plant has adaptations that help it cope with the desert climate, we call it a xerophyte, a word that means “dry plant“.

Plants in the desert

What kind of plants grow in the desert?

Desert plants include mostly succulents, that is, cacti and other plants that store a lot of water to help them during dry seasons. During light rains, these plants absorb as much water as they can hold, storing it in large storage areas in roots, leaves or stems.

Some desert plants live and grow only during the rainy season, producing seeds that can tolerate the dry season. These plants are called “annuals” because they reappear every year. Thus the adult plant, which loses more water than the seed, avoids the hot, dry conditions of the desert dry seasons.

Other desert plants called perennials live for several years but may hibernate or become dormant during the dry season.

A lot of desert plants do not store enough water, die or become dormant during the dry season. Instead, these plants are able to tolerate or withstand the hottest and driest parts of the year.

Adaptations

A couple of tricks help these plants handle desert conditions. The sharp thorns you see its cactus and other plants help protect them from the sun, keeping them cool, as well as defending the plant from predators.

Some plants, like Mesquite trees, possess very long taproots that reach more than 100 feet to reach groundwater, water stored deep underground.

For some plants, one way to make sure they have enough water is to get rid of competition, that is, neighboring plants. A plant called “creosote” produces special chemicals, or toxins, which it releases into nearby soil.

These toxins make it difficult for other plants to grow in that soil. This adaptation strategy is called “allelopathy” and keeps out plants that would consume the creosote’s water supply.

Flowers also grow in the desert, and usually their bulbs are hardy enough that they can survive in the ground without blooming for months or even years until the conditions for flowering occur.

This phenomenon is especially noticeable in some locations such as the Atacama desert where rainfall is so scarce it occurs in cycles of 3 to 7 years, during which the phenomenon of “desert blooming” may occur with over 200 species of wildflowers appearing all at once and entirely transforming the landscape of the desert.

Some examples of desert plant adaptations:

  • Smaller leaves with few stomata (holes) to reduce transpiration and water loss
  • Photosynthesis is carried out directly in the stem rather than leaves (e.g. cactus pads)
  • Some plants only grow leaves during rainy season and drop them during dry weather
  • Spines and hairs to break down hot wind and offer shade to stem
  • Very widespread root systems to maximize rainwater absorption
  • Some desert flowers can lie dormant as bulb during the driest years

Desert Plants

Below, a list of desert plants with pictures including iconic cacti, succulents, flowers and trees that only grow in the harshest desert environments and hot, dry climates.

Saguaro Cactus

Saguaro Cactus (Carnegiea gigantea)

The saguaro is a large cactus that grows in Arizona and is the symbol of the Sonoran Desert. It grows very slowly, and up to 75 years may pass before the characteristic branches form. It reaches considerable heights, the largest known to exist measuring 13 meters in height and 3 meters in circumference. Its structure allows it to store an enormous amount of water, up to 5 tons. Its longevity is also incredible: the saguaro can live up to 300 years.

Golden Barrel Cactus

Golden Barrel Cactus

This cactus is native to the American deserts of the Southwest, and is one of the largest in that hostile territory: it measures up to 3.5 meters in height, and its spines can reach 25 centimeters. It also lives up to 150 years, and can last 6 years without water.

Organ Pipe Cactus

Organ Pipe Cactus (Stenocereus thurberi)

Stenocereus thurberi is a columnar cactus that can grow to a high size; it is nicknamed “organ pipe cactus” because of its perfectly cylindrical stems that grow to various heights symmetrically. Its bright green body is covered with thick brownish-black spines that create a beautiful color contrast, and its spring flowers are large and very showy purplish-red. It is a slow-growing plant widespread in the rocky deserts of Mexico and the US.

Silver Torch Cactus

Silver Torch Cactus (Cleistocactus strausii)

Native to Bolivia and Argentina, it is also known as wooly torch because of its silvery “foliage,” which actually consists of thin whitish spines. It may sound strange, but this desert plant survives even in frigid temperatures as low as 14°F (-10°C). It can grow to a height of three meters, and in late summer it is adorned with cylindrical red flowers.

Triangle Bur Ragweed

Triangle Bur Ragweed (Ambrosia deltoidea)

This plant, which grows in the Sonoran desert, particularly in rocky areas, is distinguished by its shrub-like structure, with many branches that tangle when they die, yet remain in the canopy. The function of this plant is also to protect other plant species, providing shade, and nitrogen in the soil. It is not edible for any kind of mammal, and can cause dermatitis in humans.

Jumping Cholla

Jumping Cholla (Cylindropuntia fulgida)

The jumping cholla is a type of arborescent cactus that can grow up to 13 feet tall, with hanging branches that chain one another. It grows in the southern United States and the Mexican state of Sonora, where the plants grow thickly, forming small forests. Having often inaccessible and inhospitable places as habitats, the population of this plant remains stable, although in times of drought it provides food and water for some types of animals, such as the bighorn sheep.

Desert Ironwood

Desert Ironwood (Olneya Tesota)

Olneya Tesota, commonly known by the name Ironwood, grows only in the Sonoran Desert in North America, and despite being a tree that can reach 10 meters in height, it belongs to the Fabaceae family, like legumes. This plant attracts a specific type of bat which migrates across the desert following the flowering of the shrub from south to north.

Baseball Plant

Baseball Plant (Euphorbia Obesa)

This funny-named type of succulent is native to the Karoo Desert, South Africa, and is unfortunately an endangered plant in the wild due to indiscriminate harvesting. It always remains small, never exceeding 15 centimeters in diameter, and its growth is very slow. It has an almost spherical shape that gives it the appearance of a baseball, hence the name.

Weltwischia / Tree Tumbo

Weltwischia / Tree Tumbo (Welwitschia Mirabilis)

A very unusual shaped plant native to the Namibian desert, it is incredibly long-lived with some specimens more than 2,000 years old and are therefore considered living fossils. The scientific name is Welwitschia Mirabilis but it is simply called Weltwischia or Tree Tumbo. Although it may look like a bushy plant, it actually has only two leaves, growing lying on the ground, up to five meters long. The leaves dry up at the end, but grow continuously from the base, giving this desert plant the appearance of a cluster of green ribbons.

Desert Fan Palm

Desert Fan Palm (Washingtonia filifera)

The Desert Fan Palm, also known as California Palm, is the iconic palm tree native to the southwestern US and Mexico. It is characterized by a columnar trunk with fan-shaped leaves. Although it is a desert tree, it easily adapts to different types of climates and is commonly used as an ornamental plant all over the world.


Read also: List of Desert Flowers


Leave a Reply