最后更新于八月 7, 2022

沙漠是植物生长的严酷之地 因为干, 热空气和降水不足. 从根部运输养分, 通常植物会在称为蒸腾作用的过程中使叶子中的水分蒸发. 但 在沙漠里, 难以取水的地方, 许多植物已适应节水.

植物可以通过多种方式节约用水: 他们可以控制通过蒸腾流失的水量, 他们可以获得的金额或他们可以存储的金额. 如果植物具有适应沙漠气候的适应性, 我们称之为 旱生植物, 一个意思是“干植物“.

沙漠中的植物

沙漠里长什么样的植物?

沙漠植物主要包括多肉植物, 那是, 仙人掌和其他储存大量水的植物 在旱季帮助他们. 小雨期间, 这些植物尽可能多地吸收水分, 将其存储在根部的大型存储区域中, 叶或茎.

一些沙漠植物只在雨季生活和生长, 生产可以忍受旱季的种子. 这些植物被称为 “年度”,因为它们每年都会重新出现. 因此成年植物, 比种子流失更多的水分, 避免炎热, 沙漠旱季的干燥条件.

其他 被称为多年生植物的沙漠植物可以存活数年 但在旱季可能会冬眠或休眠.

许多沙漠植物没有储存足够的水, 在旱季死亡或休眠. 反而, 这些植物能够忍受或承受一年中最热和最干燥的部分.

改编

几个技巧 帮助这些植物应对沙漠条件. 你看到它的仙人掌和其他植物的尖刺有助于保护它们免受阳光照射, 保持凉爽, 以及保护植物免受捕食者的侵害.

一些植物, 像牧豆树, 拥有很长的主根,达到超过 100 脚到达地下水, 储存在地下深处的水.

对于一些植物, 确保他们有足够水的一种方法是摆脱竞争, 那是, 邻近工厂. 一种叫做“杂酚油” 生产特殊化学品, 或毒素, 它释放到附近的土壤中.

这些毒素使其他植物难以在该土壤中生长. 这种适应策略称为 “化感作用” 并将消耗杂酚油供水的植物拒之门外.

花也长在沙漠里, 而且通常它们的球茎足够耐寒,可以 在地下存活数月甚至数年不开花 直到开花条件出现.

这种现象在某些地方尤其明显,例如 阿塔卡马沙漠 在降雨如此稀少的地方,它发生在 3 至 7 年, 其间出现“沙漠盛开” 可能会发生在 200 各种野花同时出现,彻底改变了沙漠的景观.

的一些例子 沙漠植物适应:

  • 较小的叶子,几乎没有气孔 (孔洞) 减少蒸腾和水分流失
  • 光合作用直接在茎而不是叶子中进行 (例如. 仙人掌垫)
  • 有些植物只在雨季长叶,在旱季落叶
  • 刺和毛发可以分解热风并为茎提供遮荫
  • 非常广泛的根系,可最大限度地吸收雨水
  • 在最干燥的年份,一些沙漠花卉会像球茎一样休眠

沙漠植物

以下, 一个 带图片的沙漠植物清单 包括标志性的仙人掌, 多肉植物, 只在最恶劣的沙漠环境和炎热的环境中生长的花草树木, 气候干燥.

仙人掌仙人掌

仙人掌仙人掌 (卡内基巨茶)

仙人掌是一种生长在亚利桑那州的大型仙人掌,是索诺兰沙漠的象征. 它长得很慢, 最多 75 在特征分支形成之前可能会经过数年. 它达到了相当高的高度, 已知最大的测量 13 米高和 3 周长米. 它的结构使其能够储存大量的水, 取决于 5 吨. 它的寿命也令人难以置信: 仙人掌可以辜负 300 年.

金桶仙人掌

金桶仙人掌

这种仙人掌原产于美国西南部的沙漠, 并且是该敌对领土上最大的国家之一: 它达到 3.5 米高, 它的刺可以到达 25 厘米. 它也辜负了 150 年, 并且可以持续 6 多年没有水.

风琴管仙人掌

风琴管仙人掌 (刺槐)

Stenocereus thurberi 是一种柱状仙人掌,可以长到很高的尺寸; 它被昵称为“风琴管仙人掌”,因为其完美的圆柱形茎对称地生长到不同的高度. 其鲜绿色的身体覆盖着厚厚的棕黑色刺,形成美丽的色彩对比, 它的春天的花朵很大,非常艳丽的紫红色. 它是一种生长缓慢的植物,广泛分布在墨西哥和美国的岩石沙漠中.

银火炬仙人掌

银火炬仙人掌 (仙人掌)

原产于玻利维亚和阿根廷, 它也被称为 毛茸茸的火炬 因为它银色的“叶子,” 它实际上由薄的白色刺组成. 听起来可能很奇怪, 但这种沙漠植物即使在低至 14°F 的寒冷温度下也能存活 (-10°C). 它可以长到三米高, 在夏末,它装饰着圆柱形的红色花朵.

三角布尔豚草

三角布尔豚草 (三角花)

这种植物, 生长在索诺兰沙漠, 特别是在岩石地区, 以其灌木状结构而著称, 许多树枝在死时会缠结在一起, 仍留在树冠. 这种植物的功能也是保护其他植物物种, 提供遮荫, 和土壤中的氮. 任何哺乳动物都不能食用, 并可能导致人类皮炎.

跳跃全罗

跳跃全罗 (青花筒)

跳跃的 cholla 是一种树状仙人掌,可以长到 13 英尺高, 悬挂的树枝相互链接. 它生长在美国南部和墨西哥索诺拉州, 植物生长茂密的地方, 形成小森林. 经常有人迹罕至和荒凉的地方作为栖息地, 这种植物的种群保持稳定, 虽然在干旱时期它为某些类型的动物提供食物和水, 比如大角羊.

沙漠铁木

沙漠铁木 (奥尔内亚·泰索塔)

奥尔内亚·泰索塔, 俗称铁木, 只生长在北美的索诺兰沙漠, 尽管是一棵可以到达的树 10 米高, 它属于豆科, 像豆类. 这种植物吸引了一种特定类型的蝙蝠,这种蝙蝠在灌木开花后从南到北迁移穿过沙漠.

棒球场

棒球场 (大戟)

这种有趣的多肉植物原产于卡鲁沙漠, 南非, 不幸的是,由于不分青红皂白的收获,在野外是一种濒临灭绝的植物. 它总是很小, 永不超过 15 直径厘米, 而且它的增长非常缓慢. 它具有几乎球形的形状,使其看起来像棒球, 由此得名.

万岁 / 树大鼓

万岁 / 树大鼓 (千岁兰)

一种非常不寻常的形状植物,原产于纳米比亚沙漠, 它的寿命非常长,有些标本超过 2,000 岁,因此被认为是活化石. 学名是千岁兰,但它简称为千岁兰或Tree Tumbo. 虽然它可能看起来像一株浓密的植物, 它实际上只有两片叶子, 躺在地上生长, 长达五米. 叶子最后干枯了, 但从基础不断成长, 赋予这种沙漠植物一簇绿色丝带的外观.

沙漠扇棕榈

沙漠扇棕榈 (华盛顿花)

沙漠迷掌, 也被称为加州棕榈, 是原产于美国西南部和墨西哥的标志性棕榈树. 它的特点是柱状树干,叶子呈扇形. 虽然是沙漠树, 它很容易适应不同类型的气候,在世界各地被普遍用作观赏植物.


另请阅读: 沙漠之花一览


发表评论

Last Updated on August 7, 2022

The desert is a harsh place for plants because of the dry, hot air and lack of precipitation. To transport nutrients from their roots, normally plants cause water from their leaves to evaporate in a process called transpiration. But in the desert, where water is hard to come by, many plants have adapted to save water.

Plants can conserve water in several ways: they can control the amount of water lost through transpiration, the amount they can get or the amount they can store. If a plant has adaptations that help it cope with the desert climate, we call it a xerophyte, a word that means “dry plant“.

Plants in the desert

What kind of plants grow in the desert?

Desert plants include mostly succulents, that is, cacti and other plants that store a lot of water to help them during dry seasons. During light rains, these plants absorb as much water as they can hold, storing it in large storage areas in roots, leaves or stems.

Some desert plants live and grow only during the rainy season, producing seeds that can tolerate the dry season. These plants are called “annuals” because they reappear every year. Thus the adult plant, which loses more water than the seed, avoids the hot, dry conditions of the desert dry seasons.

Other desert plants called perennials live for several years but may hibernate or become dormant during the dry season.

A lot of desert plants do not store enough water, die or become dormant during the dry season. Instead, these plants are able to tolerate or withstand the hottest and driest parts of the year.

Adaptations

A couple of tricks help these plants handle desert conditions. The sharp thorns you see its cactus and other plants help protect them from the sun, keeping them cool, as well as defending the plant from predators.

Some plants, like Mesquite trees, possess very long taproots that reach more than 100 feet to reach groundwater, water stored deep underground.

For some plants, one way to make sure they have enough water is to get rid of competition, that is, neighboring plants. A plant called “creosote” produces special chemicals, or toxins, which it releases into nearby soil.

These toxins make it difficult for other plants to grow in that soil. This adaptation strategy is called “allelopathy” and keeps out plants that would consume the creosote’s water supply.

Flowers also grow in the desert, and usually their bulbs are hardy enough that they can survive in the ground without blooming for months or even years until the conditions for flowering occur.

This phenomenon is especially noticeable in some locations such as the Atacama desert where rainfall is so scarce it occurs in cycles of 3 to 7 years, during which the phenomenon of “desert blooming” may occur with over 200 species of wildflowers appearing all at once and entirely transforming the landscape of the desert.

Some examples of desert plant adaptations:

  • Smaller leaves with few stomata (holes) to reduce transpiration and water loss
  • Photosynthesis is carried out directly in the stem rather than leaves (e.g. cactus pads)
  • Some plants only grow leaves during rainy season and drop them during dry weather
  • Spines and hairs to break down hot wind and offer shade to stem
  • Very widespread root systems to maximize rainwater absorption
  • Some desert flowers can lie dormant as bulb during the driest years

Desert Plants

Below, a list of desert plants with pictures including iconic cacti, succulents, flowers and trees that only grow in the harshest desert environments and hot, dry climates.

Saguaro Cactus

Saguaro Cactus (Carnegiea gigantea)

The saguaro is a large cactus that grows in Arizona and is the symbol of the Sonoran Desert. It grows very slowly, and up to 75 years may pass before the characteristic branches form. It reaches considerable heights, the largest known to exist measuring 13 meters in height and 3 meters in circumference. Its structure allows it to store an enormous amount of water, up to 5 tons. Its longevity is also incredible: the saguaro can live up to 300 years.

Golden Barrel Cactus

Golden Barrel Cactus

This cactus is native to the American deserts of the Southwest, and is one of the largest in that hostile territory: it measures up to 3.5 meters in height, and its spines can reach 25 centimeters. It also lives up to 150 years, and can last 6 years without water.

Organ Pipe Cactus

Organ Pipe Cactus (Stenocereus thurberi)

Stenocereus thurberi is a columnar cactus that can grow to a high size; it is nicknamed “organ pipe cactus” because of its perfectly cylindrical stems that grow to various heights symmetrically. Its bright green body is covered with thick brownish-black spines that create a beautiful color contrast, and its spring flowers are large and very showy purplish-red. It is a slow-growing plant widespread in the rocky deserts of Mexico and the US.

Silver Torch Cactus

Silver Torch Cactus (Cleistocactus strausii)

Native to Bolivia and Argentina, it is also known as wooly torch because of its silvery “foliage,” which actually consists of thin whitish spines. It may sound strange, but this desert plant survives even in frigid temperatures as low as 14°F (-10°C). It can grow to a height of three meters, and in late summer it is adorned with cylindrical red flowers.

Triangle Bur Ragweed

Triangle Bur Ragweed (Ambrosia deltoidea)

This plant, which grows in the Sonoran desert, particularly in rocky areas, is distinguished by its shrub-like structure, with many branches that tangle when they die, yet remain in the canopy. The function of this plant is also to protect other plant species, providing shade, and nitrogen in the soil. It is not edible for any kind of mammal, and can cause dermatitis in humans.

Jumping Cholla

Jumping Cholla (Cylindropuntia fulgida)

The jumping cholla is a type of arborescent cactus that can grow up to 13 feet tall, with hanging branches that chain one another. It grows in the southern United States and the Mexican state of Sonora, where the plants grow thickly, forming small forests. Having often inaccessible and inhospitable places as habitats, the population of this plant remains stable, although in times of drought it provides food and water for some types of animals, such as the bighorn sheep.

Desert Ironwood

Desert Ironwood (Olneya Tesota)

Olneya Tesota, commonly known by the name Ironwood, grows only in the Sonoran Desert in North America, and despite being a tree that can reach 10 meters in height, it belongs to the Fabaceae family, like legumes. This plant attracts a specific type of bat which migrates across the desert following the flowering of the shrub from south to north.

Baseball Plant

Baseball Plant (Euphorbia Obesa)

This funny-named type of succulent is native to the Karoo Desert, South Africa, and is unfortunately an endangered plant in the wild due to indiscriminate harvesting. It always remains small, never exceeding 15 centimeters in diameter, and its growth is very slow. It has an almost spherical shape that gives it the appearance of a baseball, hence the name.

Weltwischia / Tree Tumbo

Weltwischia / Tree Tumbo (Welwitschia Mirabilis)

A very unusual shaped plant native to the Namibian desert, it is incredibly long-lived with some specimens more than 2,000 years old and are therefore considered living fossils. The scientific name is Welwitschia Mirabilis but it is simply called Weltwischia or Tree Tumbo. Although it may look like a bushy plant, it actually has only two leaves, growing lying on the ground, up to five meters long. The leaves dry up at the end, but grow continuously from the base, giving this desert plant the appearance of a cluster of green ribbons.

Desert Fan Palm

Desert Fan Palm (Washingtonia filifera)

The Desert Fan Palm, also known as California Palm, is the iconic palm tree native to the southwestern US and Mexico. It is characterized by a columnar trunk with fan-shaped leaves. Although it is a desert tree, it easily adapts to different types of climates and is commonly used as an ornamental plant all over the world.


Read also: List of Desert Flowers


Leave a Reply