最后更新于八月 6, 2022

是什么让在沙漠中奔跑如此特别? 在沙地上跑步比在平坦的表面上更费力, 最重要的是, 白天阳光明媚时,炎热沙漠的温度可升至 50°C, 然后在夜间迅速降至 3°C. 地形因沙丘而异, 石质高原, 小径, 小颠簸, 危险的动物躲藏起来,准备刺痛……

所以, 在这种环境下, 跑步者真的经受住了考验! 参加一个 沙漠马拉松 具有挑战性,绝对不适合所有人, 但至少尝试一次肯定是一种独特且非常有益的体验.

作为 Amazon Associate 和 eBay 合作伙伴计划的一部分, 我们从本网站上宣传的商品的合格购买中获得收入.

在撒哈拉沙漠跑马拉松 des Sables
Toti Fernández 在撒哈拉沙漠的 Marathon des Sables, 2003. 照片由 凯索夫.

沙漠马拉松

的故事 沙漠奔跑 开始于 1984 当帕特里克·鲍尔, 对马拉松充满热情的法国人, 第一次成功完成了摩洛哥撒哈拉沙漠的穿越. 两年后, 在 1986, 组织了第一届 Marathon Des Sables: 一场追溯鲍尔功绩的沙漠马拉松.

这场比赛从一开始, 绰号“传奇”, 成为伟大的超级马拉松的一部分, 成为所有超级赛车手一生中至少要做一次的约会. 让比赛更具史诗感, 仿佛在奔跑 250 沙漠中的公里数还不够, 跑步者必须在食物方面自给自足: 这意味着沿途没有经典马拉松比赛中的茶点.

只给参与者 9 每天升水, 他们必须用它做一切: 喝, 吃和, 若有可能, 洗自己. 食物完全是运动员个人的责任, 谁必须把所有必需的食物放在背包里.

Marathon des Sables – 撒哈拉沙漠, 摩洛哥

沙滩马拉松 (法语为“沙滩马拉松”) 是多日, 251 公里 (156 米) 每年在摩洛哥撒哈拉沙漠举行的超级马拉松, 和 被认为是地球上最有趣的赛跑.

这场艰苦的 7 天赛段比赛即使是最有经验的跑者也面临考验. 参与者必须应对极端天气条件和 104F 的平均每日温度 (40°C), 作为典型的沙漠气候,它在夜间急剧下降. 强风和沙尘暴很常见. 这除了岩石地形, 沙丘, 无法控制的饥渴.

Marathon des sables 肯定不是在公园里散步, 但, 根据许多做过的跑步者, 它仍然是最激动人心的比赛, 令人难以置信的体验,能够让您对自己的能力充满信心.

对于这场比赛, 跑步者倾向于 提前两年注册 由于需求量大,注册费用约为 $5,000.

辛普森沙漠超 - 辛普森沙漠, 澳大利亚

Simpson Desert Ultra 是沙漠中超级马拉松名单的最新成员之一. 它发生在澳大利亚内陆的中心地带, 靠近昆士兰州南部的伯兹维尔镇. 有100公里的距离, 75公里, 50公里, 和 25 公里覆盖各种地形, 因此,无论是对超场景的新人还是那些习惯于这些事件的艰巨性的人来说,都有一些东西.

虽然不像 Marathon des Sables 那样艰难, 毫无疑问,它测试了每个参与者的局限性,并允许他们 沉浸在澳大利亚风景的一个真正独特的方面, 从高耸的沙丘到多岩石的吉伯平原.

沙滩马拉松 - 在沙漠中奔跑
沙滩马拉松, 2009. 照片由 帐篷89.

沙漠跑步技巧

训练

每个培训计划都应根据个人特点量身定制, 经验, 和水平 这在极端天气条件下的沙漠景观中跑步时尤其重要. 根据经验, 请记住以下几点:

  • 不要低估你的耐力训练. 尝试 使您的训练方案多样化 通过以不同的节奏工作: 耐力也是门槛, 最大有氧速度 (但) 训练, ETC. 理想情况下, 尝试每周训练两到三次,为沙漠比赛做准备.
  • 为了耐力, 没有必要运行超过 2 一天几小时. 尤其是比赛前一周, 保存你的能量,尽量不要过度. 另一方面, 远足或跑步是必不可少的 (交替步行和跑步), 每周至少一次几个小时. 以此为契机 建立海拔增益并习惯技术路线. 如果你有机会在旷野训练, 充分利用它.
  • 进行间歇训练时, 30 分钟的热身和 15 几分钟的恢复就足够了. 不要不必要地过度,按照你的标准更好地工作. 做耐力的时候, 30 至 40 分钟就足够了. 不要在一个课程中混合不同的训练方案, 给你的身体足够的时间来适应不同的动作并从疲劳中恢复.
  • 经常背着你的背包会使自己暴露在超载和受伤的风险中. 最好只在比赛前的最后一段时间才开始佩戴, 不超过一个月前.
  • 不要一次跑太多英里. 记住: 踏实和稳重是赢得比赛的关键. 不要太快让自己筋疲力尽. 多喝水并保持水分, 如果您感到疲倦,请休息, 和 倾听你的身体.

赛前

沙漠徒步赛高于一切耐力赛 跑步者必须为运动做好心理和身体上的准备. 所以, 也是 有必要关注饮食方面. 由于比赛在沙漠烈日下自给自足, 跑步者需要 水分充足,营养丰富 为了不屈服于元素. 大多数跑者, 意识到事件的难度, 提前几个月选择遵循均衡饮食.

比赛期间

在大多数沙漠比赛中,例如 Marathons des Sables, 参赛者在赛事期间自给自足. 他们还必须轻装出行,并且最低配给量为 2000 千卡/天. 目标是恢复身体在比赛期间消耗的储备.

低血糖是身体糖储备的消耗. 当血糖下降, 它会导致身体完全疲惫. 所以, 你需要考虑 选择富含碳水化合物的食物和液体 因为它们在行走时更容易摄入. 它们还将有助于减少比赛中的颠簸. 还, 记得之前补水, 赛中和赛后避免脱水. 因为这, 你需要补充水和能量. 合起来, 它们将帮助您的身体更好地承受磨难.

请注意没有厕所, 阵雨, Marathon des Sables 期间的电源或电源插座. 这里有一些小设备,以确保最低限度的卫生: 超细纤维毛巾 Freshness 手套——这些手套可以不用水清洗. 线和针, 布贴片, 胶水: 好的刚度也是好的多面手. 面巾纸, 沙漠防晒霜, 减摩霜, 肥皂, 还需要耳塞.

赛后

身体和心灵都累了, 和 跑步者必须逐渐恢复到更规律的饮食. 冒着扰乱消化系统的风险, 最好慢慢吃,避免过度贪吃的口粮和难以消化的菜肴,而选择适量的较轻的口粮.

总之, 开始这种冒险时,饮食和补水很重要. 自从 Marathon des Sables 是一项耐力测试, 身体需要能够承受它, 这就是为什么充足的饮食很重要.

Marathon des Sables 的沙漠赛跑者 2010
Marathons des Sables 的赛跑者 2010. 照片由 阿奇姆·克纳克斯特.

齿轮 & 设备

与标准马拉松相比, 在沙漠中奔跑 需要一个人更加注意他们在背包中带来的东西. 这些包括 适合沙漠的衣服, 充满能量的零食, 沙漠露营必备品 生存装备.

请注意,摩洛哥拥有多达 12 蛇的种类和 10 蝎子的种类, 所有这些都是有毒的 (幸运的是, 大多数是夜间活动). 在澳大利亚内陆地区也发现了有毒动物, 所以确保你 研究你跑步所在的特定沙漠的野生动物和可能的危险.

必修项目

为了 沙滩马拉松, 每个参与者的背包重量必须在 6.4 公斤和 15 公斤, 包括食物 (但不是水). 比赛前一天, 组织者称重每包并检查必要的用品:

  • 背包或帆布背包
  • 睡袋
  • 头灯和全套备用电池
  • 罗盘
  • 打火机
  • 带金属刀片的刀
  • 局部消毒剂
  • 抗毒
  • 信号镜
  • 铝制救生板
  • SPF100+防晒霜
  • 护照/身份证
  • AOI提供的医疗证明原件, 由医生填写并签字
  • 原始心电图及其踪迹

沙漠跑步服

沙漠的特点是多变的天气条件, 昼夜温差很大. 为了知道 如何在沙漠中穿衣, 重要的是要意识到 沙漠里的日子很热,但晚上突然变得很冷.

此外, 天气状况会带来强风, 沙尘暴, 或难以预测的热浪. 所以, 处理沙漠的正确方法是携带正确的设备和 做好一切准备.

衬衫和裤子

在炎热的时候尽可能多地暴露自己似乎是个好主意, 但在沙漠中,做相反的事情是件好事: 从头到脚遮住自己, 至 保护自己免受晒伤, 沙粒和岩石, 昆虫和动物的叮咬 可以隐藏在沙丘中.

一般建议穿轻便的, 亮色宽松长袖衬衫和长裤, 你可能还想为那些寒冷的沙漠之夜带件夹克.


Hanes 男士长袖 Cool Dri T 恤 UPF 50+


Little Donkey Andy 男式弹力敞篷裤, 拉链速干登山裤, 紫外线防护, 轻的


Butrends 女式登山裤户外拉链口袋锻炼旅行工装裤

鞋类

三件鞋类物品将保护您的脚, 沙漠中的脚趾和脚踝: 美丽诺羊毛袜, 登山鞋沙漠绑腿.

美利奴羊毛袜将确保您的双脚不会吸收过多的汗水 由于织物的止汗特性, 尽管 绑腿将增加一层额外的保护层,防止碎片和蛇 / 蝎子咬伤.

沙漠跑鞋用, 选择缓冲良好的东西, 但专为在岩石地形上牵引而设计 (记住: 你不会跑步 只是 在软沙上!)

Oboz Sawtooth II 低 B-Dry

Oboz Sawtooth II 低 B-Dry
霍卡一一克利夫顿 7

HOKA ONE ONE 克利夫顿 7
Xero 鞋履 Terraflex
Xero 赤脚鞋 Terraflex
阅读更多: 沙漠跑步的最佳鞋子
此图像的 alt 属性为空; 它的文件名为 image-39.png


75% 美利奴羊毛袜
此图像的 alt 属性为空; 它的文件名为 image-34.png

66% 美利奴羊毛袜

此图像的 alt 属性为空; 它的文件名为 image-46.png


40% 美利奴羊毛袜
阅读更多: 沙漠跑步的最佳袜子

沙丘探险者的沙漠绑腿
户外研究 Bugout 绑腿
TurtleSkin SnakeArmor 绑腿


Kahtoola INSTAgaiter 低
最佳沙漠绑腿
户外研究落基山低绑腿
阅读更多: 沙漠跑步的最佳绑腿

头饰

就沙漠中的头饰而言, 你会想要 保护你的额头, 眼睛和嘴巴. 一个 沙漠跑帽 会对太阳光线产生奇迹, 但您可能还想投资 围巾 和一对 防尘护目镜 当天气变大时,作为一种屏蔽沙粒的形式.

沙漠跑步帽


Outdoor Research Sombriolet 太阳帽

哥伦比亚男女成人波拉波拉岛布尼

巴拿马杰克网眼皇冠狩猎太阳帽
阅读更多: 沙漠最好的帽子

沙漠跑步围巾

此图像的 alt 属性为空; 它的文件名为 image-56.png
100% 棉舍马
此图像的 alt 属性为空; 它的文件名为 image-58.png



100% 棉花头巾
此图像的 alt 属性为空; 它的文件名为 image-57.png

棉/涤纶混纺 shemagh

防晒

不言而喻, 但是一个 高防护防晒霜 (例如. Sun Bum Original SPF 70) 在炎热沙漠的烈日下成为你最好的朋友. 确保定期重新申请, 每两个小时一次,取决于阳光的强度.

你不仅需要保护你的皮肤, 而且你的眼睛也会被晒伤, 所以 戴 UV400 太阳镜 这将保护您免受 99%-100% 在沙漠中奔跑时的紫外线.


防晒指数 100 香蕉船运动超

防晒指数 100 露得清 Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch

防晒指数 100 理肤泉 Anthelios

防晒指数 110 露得清年龄护盾
阅读更多: 沙漠最好的防晒霜

沙漠中最好的太阳镜提供最大的紫外线防护,UV400 等级, 哪些块 99-100% 紫外线.

最佳预算眼镜

SUNGAIT 超轻长方形偏光太阳镜 UV400 防护

SUNGAIT 偏光太阳镜
顶级设计师
眼镜

带有 UV400 偏光镜片的手工木制太阳镜 & 春天的寺庙

Hammockable 手工木制太阳镜
优质眼镜

BNUS 男士太阳镜 & 女性, 偏光玻璃镜片, 彩色镜面防刮花

BNUS 太阳镜
最佳儿童眼镜

ACBLUCE 儿童偏光运动太阳镜 TPEE 弹性镜框带可调节肩带,适合男孩女孩年龄 5-13

ACBLUCE 儿童偏光太阳镜
阅读更多: 沙漠的最佳太阳镜

健康与急救

在补水方面,水是显而易见的选择, 但你可能还想带一些 运动饮料和其他电解质来源 补充体液. 对于营养, 选择 适合沙漠的食物 露营时吃 和能量棒 让您在白天保持精力充沛.

最后, 请记住,事故可以而且很可能会发生——一个 户外运动急救箱 和一个 治疗蛇咬伤的工具包 可以使难忘的沙漠奔跑体验和难忘的体验有所不同. 哦, 你甚至不考虑参加比赛没有 涵盖超级马拉松的运动保险.


沙地运动


滑沙
沙雪橇
火山登机

滑沙
沙风筝

沙漠赛车
沙丘猛击
沙漠远足 & 野营
沙漠旅行
沙漠露营
沙漠奔跑

另请阅读: 如何训练沙漠耐力赛

发表评论

Last Updated on October 11, 2022

What makes running in the desert so special? Running on sand takes more effort than flat surfaces, on top of that, temperature in the hot desert can rise up to 50°C during the day when the sunshine is bright, and then quickly drop to 3°C at night. The terrain is varied between dunes, stony plateaus, trails, small bumps, with dangerous animals hiding and ready to sting…

So, in this environment, the runner is really put to the test! Taking part in a desert marathon is challenging and definitely not for everyone, but it surely can be a unique and very rewarding experience to try at least once.

As part of the Amazon Associate and eBay Partner Programme, we earn from qualifying purchases on items advertised on this website.

Running the Marathon des Sables in the Sahara Desert
Toti Fernández at teh Marathon des Sables in the Sahara desert, 2003. Photo courtesy of Kaisove.

Desert Marathons

The story of desert running began in 1984 when Patrick Bauer, a Frenchman with a passion for marathons, managed to complete the crossing of the Moroccan Sahara solo for the first time. Two years later, in 1986, the first Marathon Des Sables was organized: a desert marathon that retraced Bauer’s exploits.

Right from the start this race, nicknamed “The Legendary”, became part of the great ultra-marathons, becoming an appointment to do at least once in a lifetime for all ultra-racers. To make the race even more epic, as if running 250 kilometers in the desert were not enough, runners must be self-sufficient in terms of food: this means that there are no refreshment points along the route as in the classic marathons.

Participants are given only 9 liters of water per day, with which they must do everything: drink, eat and, when possible, wash themselves. Food is entirely the responsibility of the individual athletes, who must bring all the necessary to eat in their backpack.

Marathon des Sables – Sahara Desert, Morocco

The Marathon des Sables (French for “Sand Marathon”) is a multiday, 251 km (156 mi) ultramarathon which is held every year in the Sahara desert of Morocco, and is considered the thoughest foot race on Earth.

This grueling seven-day stage race put even the most experienced runners to the test. Participants must deal with extreme weather conditions and an average daily temperature of 104F (40°C), which drops sharply at night as typical of desert climates. Strong winds and sandstorms are common. This in addition to the rocky terrain, sand dunes, the unmanageable hunger and thirst.

The Marathon des sables is certainly not a walk in the park, but, according to many runners who have done it, it remains the most exciting competition, an incredible experience capable of giving you immense faith in your own abilities.

For this race, runners tend to register two years in advance due to high demand and the cost of registration is approximately $5,000.

Simpson Desert Ultra – Simpson Desert, Australia

The Simpson Desert Ultra is one of the newest additions to the list of ultramarathons in the desert. It takes place in the heart of the Australian Outback, near the town of Birdsville in Southern Queensland. There are distances of 100km, 75km, 50km, and 25km covering a wide range of terrains, so there is something for both newcomers to the ultra scene and those who are accustomed to the arduous nature of these events.

While not as tough as the Marathon des Sables, it undoubtedly tests the limitations of every participant and allows them to immerse themselves in a really unique aspect of the Australian landscape, from towering sand dunes to rocky gibber plains.

Marathon des Sables - Running in the Desert
Marathon des Sables, 2009. Photo courtesy of tent89.

Desert Running Tips

Training

Each training plan should be tailored to individual characteristics, experience, and level This is especially important when running in a desert landscape with extreme weather conditions. As a rule of thumb, keep the following in mind:

  • Don’t underestimate your endurance training. Try to diversify your training regimens by working at different paces: endurance but also threshold, maximum aerobic speed (MAS) training, etc. Ideally, try to train two to three times a week in preparation for a desert race.
  • For endurance, it is not necessary to run for more than 2 hours a day. Especially the week before a race, conserve your energy and try not to overdo it. On the other hand, it is essential to hike or run (alternating walking and running), for several hours at least once a week. Take it as an opportunity to build up elevation gain and get used to technical trails. If you have the opportunity to train in the wilderness, make the most of it.
  • When doing interval training, 30 minutes of warm-up and 15 minutes of recovery are sufficient. Don’t overdo it unnecessarily and work better on your standards. When doing endurance, 30 to 40 minutes is sufficient. Don’t mix different training regimens in one session, give your body enough time to get used to the different movements and recover from fatigue.
  • Carrying your backpack too often runs the risk of exposing yourself to overload and injury. It is preferable to start wearing it only in the last period before a race, not more than a month before.
  • Do not run too many miles at once. Remember: slow and steady wins the race. Don’t wear yourself out too quickly. Drink plenty of fluids and stay hydrated, rest if you feel tired, and listen to your body.

Before the race

Desert foot races are above everything else endurance races and runners must prepare mentally as well as physically for the exercise. Therefore, it is also necessary to focus on the dietary aspect. Since the race takes place in self-sufficiency under a blazing sun of the desert, the runner will need to be well hydrated and well nourished in order not to succumb to the elements. Most runners, aware of the difficulty of the event, choose to follow a balanced diet already months in advance.

During the race

In most desert races such as the Marathons des Sables, runners are self-sufficient for the duration of the event. They must also travel light and have a minimum ration of 2000 kcal/day. The goal is to restore the reserves that the body will consume during the race.

Hypoglycemia is the depletion of the body’s sugar reserves. When blood sugar drops, it causes total exhaustion in the body. Therefore, you will need to think about opting for carbohydrate-rich foods and liquids because they will be easier to ingest while walking. They will also help reduce the jolting during the race. Also, remember to hydrate before, during and after the race to avoid dehydration. Because of this, you will need to fill up on water and energy. Taken together, they will help your body better endure the ordeal.

Please note that there are no toilets, showers, electricity or electrical outlets during the Marathon des Sables. Here are a few small pieces of equipment to ensure minimal hygiene: Microfiber towel Freshness gloves – these gloves allow washing without water. Thread and needles, fabric patch, glue: a good stiffness is also a good all-rounder. Kleenex, desert-proof sunscreen, anti-friction cream, soap, earplugs are also needed.

After the race

Both the body and the mind are tired, and the runner must gradually ease back into more regular diet. At the risk of disturbing it one’s digestion system, it is best to take it slowly and avoid overly gluttonous rations and hard-to-digest dishes in favor of lighter rations in moderate quantities.

In summary, diet and hydration are important when embarking on this type of adventure. Since the Marathon des Sables is an endurance test, the body will need to be able to withstand it, which is why it is important to have an adequate diet.

Desert runners at the Marathon des Sables in 2010
Runners at the Marathons des Sables 2010. Photo courtesy of Achim Knacksterdt.

Gear & Equipment

Compared to standard marathons, running in the deserts requires one to pay much more attention to what they bring along in their backpack. These include desert-appropriate clothing, energy-filled snacks, desert camping essentials and survival gear.

Note that Morocco is home to as many as 12 species of snakes and 10 types of scorpions, all of which are venomous (fortunately, most are nocturnal). Venomous animals are also found in the Australian Outback, so make sure you research the wildlife and possible dangers of the specific desert where your run is taking place.

Compulsory items

For the Marathon des Sables, each participant’s backpack must weigh between 6.4 kg and 15 kg, including food (but not water). The day before the race, the organizers weigh each pack and check the necessary supplies:

  • backpack or rucksack
  • sleeping bag
  • head flashlight and a full set of spare batteries
  • compass
  • lighter
  • whistle
  • knife with metal blade
  • topical disinfectant
  • anti-poison
  • signal mirror
  • aluminum survival sheet
  • SPF100+ sunscreen
  • passport/identity card
  • original medical certificate provided by AOI, completed and signed by the doctor
  • Original ECG and its trace

Desert Running Clothes

The desert is characterized by variable weather conditions, with a very high day to night temperature range. In order to know how to dress in the desert, it is important to be aware of the fact that the days in the desert are extremely hot but it can get very cold at night suddenly.

In addition, weather conditions can bring strong winds, sandstorms, or heat waves that are difficult to predict. Therefore, the right way to deal with the desert is to carry the right equipment and be ready for anything.

Shirt and Pants

It might seem like a good idea to bare yourself as much as possible when it’s hot, but in the desert it’s good to do exactly the opposite: cover yourself from head to toe, to protect yourself from sunburn, grains of sand and rocks, stings and bites from insects and animals that can hide in the dunes.

It is generally recommended to wear lightweight, bright colored and loose long sleeve shirts and trousers, and you may want to bring a jacket for those cold desert nights as well.


Hanes Men’s Long Sleeve Cool Dri T-Shirt UPF 50+


Little Donkey Andy Men’s Stretch Convertible Pants, Zip-Off Quick-Dry Hiking Pants, UV Protection, Lightweight


Butrends Women’s Hiking Capris Pants Outdoor Zipper Pockets Workout Travel Cargo Pant

Footwear

Three footwear items will protect your feet, toes and ankles in the desert: merino socks, trail hiking shoes and desert gaiters.

Merino wool socks will make sure that your feet don’t absorb too much sweat thanks to the anti-perspirant properties of the fabric, while gaiters will add an extra layer of protection against debris and snake / scorpion bites.

For desert running shoes, opt for something that is well-cushioned, but designed for traction on rocky terrains (remember: you won’t be running just on soft sand!)

Oboz Sawtooth II Low B-Dry

Oboz Sawtooth II Low B-Dry
Hoka One One Clifton 7

HOKA ONE ONE Clifton 7
Xero Shoes Terraflex
Xero Barefoot Shoes Terraflex
Read more: Best Shoes for Desert Running
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-39.png


75% Merino wool socks
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-34.png

66% Merino wool socks

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-46.png


40% Merino wool socks
Read more: Best socks for desert running

Headwear

As far as headwear goes in the desert, you will want to protect your forehead, eyes and mouth. A desert running hat will do wonders against sun rays, but you may also want to invest in a mouthscarf and a pair of dust-proof goggles as a form of shield from sand particles for when the weather gets windy.

Desert Running Hats


Outdoor Research Sombriolet Sun Hat

Columbia Unisex Adult Bora Bora Booney

Panama Jack Mesh Crown Safari Sun Hat
Read more: Best hat for desert

Desert Running Scarves

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-56.png
100% cotton shemagh
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-58.png



100% cotton keffiyeh
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-57.png

Cotton/Polyester blend shemagh

Sun Protection

It goes without saying, but a high-protection sunscreen (e.g. Sun Bum Original SPF 70) will be your best friend under the scorching sun of any hot desert. Make sure to re-apply it regurarly, as often as every two hours depending on how strong the sun is shining.

You don’t only need to protect your skin, but also your eyes can be subject to sunburn, so wear UV400 sunglasses which will protect you against 99%-100% of UV rays while you are running in the desert.


SPF 100 Banana Boat Sport Ultra

SPF 100 Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch

SPF 100 La Roche-Posay Anthelios

SPF 110 Neutrogena Age Shield
Read more: Best sunscreen for desert

The best sunglasses for desert offer maximum UV protection with a rating of UV400, which blocks 99-100% of UV rays.

BEST BUDGET GLASSES

SUNGAIT Ultra Lightweight Rectangular Polarized Sunglasses UV400 Protection

SUNGAIT Polarized Sunglasses
TOP DESIGNER
GLASSES

Handmade Wood Sunglasses with UV400 Polarized Lenses & Spring Temples

Hammockable Handmade Wood Sunglasses
TOP QUALITY GLASSES

BNUS Sunglasses for Men & Women, Polarized glass lens, Color Mirrored Scratch Proof

BNUS Sunglasses
BEST KIDS GLASSES

ACBLUCE Kids Polarized Sports Sunglasses TPEE Flexible Frame with Adjustable Strap for Boys Girls Age 5-13

ACBLUCE Kids Polarized Sunglasses
Read more: Best sunglasses for desert

Health and First Aid

Water is the obvious choice when it comes to hydration, but you may also want to bring some sports drinks and other sources of electrolytes to replenish your fluids. For nutrition, opt for desert-friendly foods to eat while camping and energy bars to keep you fueled during the day.

Finally, remember that accident can and are likely to happen – an outdoor sports first-aid kit and a kit to treat snake bites can make the difference between a memorable desert running experience and one to forget. Oh, and don’t you even think of joining the race without a sports insurance that covers ultra marathons.


Sandsports


Sandboarding
Sand Sledding
Volcano boarding

Sand Skiing
Sand Kiting

Desert Racing
Dune Bashing
Desert Hiking & Camping
Desert Travel
Desert Camping
Desert Running

Read Also: How to train for a desert endurance event

Sand-boarding.com

Your n°1 source of information on the world of sandsports and desert adventure travel. Our articles are the result of extensive research, personal experience, and knowledge-sharing within the global sandboarding community.