آخر تحديث في يناير 25, 2023

يأتي الاستعداد للوجبات لفترات طويلة في الصحراء مع بعض التحديات: لن تدوم معظم الأطعمة أكثر من ساعتين في درجات الحرارة الشديدة دون أن تفسد, و إذا كنت تخيم في الصحراء ، فلن تتمكن من الوصول إلى ثلاجة أو وحدة تجميدمبرد صحراوي محمول قد لا يزال مفيدًا بالرغم من ذلك, فلدي الحفاظ على تلك البيرة طازجة).

حتى لو كنت لا ترغب في تناول الطعام أثناء النهار, عندما تنخفض درجات الحرارة بشكل حاد في الليل سيبدأ جسمك في الرغبة في الحصول على السعرات الحرارية لإبقائك دافئًا, لذلك لا تقلل من أهمية التعبئة المغذية للغاية, وجبات خفيفة مليئة بالطاقة.

يمكن أن يكون التخييم في برية الصحراء أمرًا مرهقًا, ولكن إذا كان لديك وصول إلى بعض أواني الطهي الأساسية, مثل وعاء غلاية التخييم والموقد المحمول, ومن بعد يمكنك بسهولة منح نفسك الوصول إلى صحي, نظام غذائي متوازن حتى في أقسى البيئات الصحراوية.

تأكد من إحضار مزيج من الأطعمة المعلبة والجافة معك, لكن حاول أن تختار البدائل منخفضة الصوديوم لأن التركيز العالي للملح في جسمك قد يسبب الجفاف ويزيده سوءًا. إذا كنت من النوع الأكثر ميلا إلى المغامرة, بامكانك ان تحاول العثور على طعام في الصحراء, ولكن هذا سيضع مهاراتك في البقاء على المحك.

كجزء من برنامج Amazon Associate, نحن نكسب من عمليات الشراء المؤهلة.

الأكل في الصحراء: عشاء نار معسكر صحراوي.
نار في معسكر صحراوي. الصورة مجاملة من توماش مالك

أفضل غذاء للتخييم في الصحراء & حقائب الظهر

دقيق شوفان فوري

دقيق الشوفان الفوري يجعل خيار الإفطار رائعًا ومتعدد الاستخدامات يتطلب فقط بعض الماء الساخن أو الحليب. يمكنك استخدام أي شيء تتمناه تقريبًا كغطاء وحشو, وجبة صحية لا تتطلب تحضيرًا.

متميز: دقيق الشوفان الفوري من كويكر

طعام الصحراء: دقيق الشوفان الفوري

نودلز سريعة التحضير منخفضة الصوديوم

من لا يحب كم هي رخيصة وملائمة المعكرونة سريعة التحضير? تأكد من اختيار خيار الصوديوم المنخفض لأنك لا تريد أن تبقيك خياراتك الغذائية أكثر جفافاً في الصحراء.

متميز: شوربة كويو نباتية رامين نباتية

طعام الصحراء: نودلز رامين سريعة التحضير

الفلفل الحار المعلب

من الناحية الفنية, أي نوع من الحساء أو الحساء المعلب سيكون جيدًا في الصحراء. ولكن هل يمكنك التفكير في أي شيء أكثر ترابية, حشوة ومغذية من وعاء من الفلفل الحار? سواء كنت في لحم البقر, نكون نباتي , حب الفاصوليا أو أكرههم, هناك علبة فلفل حار جاهز لك في الخارج.

متميز: الفلفل الحار المعلب مع الفاصوليا

طعام الصحراء: يخنة الفلفل الحار المعلب

مكسرات مشكله

الوجبة الخفيفة المثالية لممارسي رياضة المشي لمسافات طويلة, المكسرات هي مصدر قوة للطاقة والمواد الغذائية التي تناسب جيبك. اخلطي الفول السوداني معًا, عين الجمل, الكاجو, بذور اليقطين - رمي بعض التمر والتوت المجفف إذا كنت تشتهي شيئًا حلوًا وأنت على ما يرام.

متميز: حقيبة مكسرات جورميه باور اب تريل ميكس

طعام الصحراء: مكسرات مشكله

فواكه مجففة

تعتبر الفاكهة مصدرًا مهمًا للفيتامينات ولكن للأسف محتواها العالي من الماء يجعلها غير مناسبة للإقامات الطويلة في الصحراء. الحل? تجفيفها! تفاح مجفف, موز, يُعد المشمش وأي فاكهة أخرى تقريبًا وجبة خفيفة رائعة يمكن تخزينها في أقسى الظروف المناخية. نصيحة محترف: أنها تشكل طبقة كبيرة لوجبة الإفطار الخاص بك دقيق الشوفان.

متميز: أوه! المكسرات 18 متنوعة الجوز & سلة هدايا الفواكه المجففة

طعام الصحراء: فواكه مجففة

لحوم البقر مجفف

تمامًا مثل الفواكه, لا تنس أن تجفف البروتينات أيضًا. يأتي جيركي بجميع الأشكال والألوان هذه الأيام (بما فيها بدائل نباتية) وهي رائعة كوجبة خفيفة أثناء التنقل أو مضافة إلى الحساء والمعكرونة. أفضل الخيارات دائمًا تكون منخفضة الدهون والأملاح.

متميز: جاك لينك بيف جيركي, إبداعي

طعام الصحراء: لحوم البقر مجفف

وقت الشاي في الصحراء
وقت الشاي في الصحراء. الصورة مجاملة من ميشيل بينريسيتي.

البقاء رطبًا

تذكر ذلك يجب أن يكون الماء دائمًا على رأس أولوياتك عند التنزه في الصحراء. ليس فقط ما تشربه, ولكن أيضًا ما تأكله يمكن أن يساعدك على تجديد السوائل, رغم إذا اخترت الأطعمة المجففة ، فمن الواضح أنك لن تحصل على نفس كمية الماء التي تتناولها إذا كنت تتناول طعامًا منتظمًا مثل الفواكه والخضروات الطازجة. تهدف دائمًا إلى جلب على الأقل 2-6 كوارت (أو لترات) من الماء لكل شخص يوميًا عندما تغامر بالصحراء, وبعضها الآخر للنسخ الاحتياطي في سيارتك.

ماء جوز الهند يمكن أن تساعدك على محاربة الجفاف عن طريق تجديد المعادن في جسمك. تعد مشروبات استبدال السوائل المملوءة بالكهرباء خيارًا جيدًا أيضًا, فقط تأكد من عدم المبالغة في الصوديوم, التي ستجدها عادة بكميات كبيرة بالفعل في الأطعمة المعلبة والمكسرات المملحة. أنظر أيضا: نصائح حول بقاء الصحراء.

أكل الملح في الصحراء

ربما تكون قد قرأت في مكان آخر أن الطعام المالح يمكن أن يساعدك بالفعل على محاربة الجفاف, لأنه يساعد جسمك على الاحتفاظ بالماء. هذا صحيح جزئيًا فقط وليس سببًا لتخزين الأطعمة المالحة عند السفر إلى وجهات الطقس الحار.

نعم, يحتاج جسمك إلى كمية من الصوديوم وأكثر من ذلك عندما تتعرق كثيرًا, لكن معظم الأطعمة (جاف بشكل خاص, الأطعمة المصنعة التي يحتمل أن تأكلها في الصحراء) تحتوي بالفعل عالي جدا كمية الصوديوم. إن تناول الكثير من الملح سيزيد من سوء حالة الجفاف, يعطيك فم قطني, ويزيد عطشك, وهو ليس مثاليًا عندما يكون لديك كميات محدودة من الماء في متناول اليد.

إذا كنت قلقًا بشأن احتمالية استنفاد المعادن من خلال التعرق المفرط, ضع في اعتبارك المشروبات الرياضية منخفضة الصوديوم مثل نوما العضوي المنحل بالكهرباء لرحلتك.

الكحول والكافيين

يمكن أن يساهم الكحول والكافيين أيضًا في الجفاف ومن الأفضل تجنبهما في الصحراء. لا يعد شرب الشاي أو القهوة في الطقس الحار أمرًا مثاليًا لأنها ستجعلك تتعرق أكثر, لذلك إذا كنت تشعر بالحاجة إلى الكافيين, من الأفضل أن تحصل على الإصلاح في الصباح أو في المساء عندما يكون الطقس أكثر برودة.

من ناحية أخرى, من الأفضل تجنب الكحول في جميع الأوقات في الصحراء - على الرغم من أنه قد يكون من المغري تناول بيرة طازجة لتبرد في وسط حرارة الصحراء. إذا قررت شرب الكحول, تأكد من التناوب مع الماء (والنظر في الاستثمار في أ كيس تبريد الماء للحفاظ على مشروباتك طازجة).


طفل يركب جمل
تعتبر الجمال مصدرًا مهمًا للغذاء للعديد من المجتمعات الصحراوية في الصحراء.

أطعمة بدوية الصحراء التقليدية

هل أنت من النوع المغامر الذي يريد أن يعيش مثل البدو? البدو الصحراويون حول العالم لديهم أنظمة غذائية محددة للغاية مصممة حول أنواع الموارد التي يمكنهم العثور عليها من حولهم.

الكسكس هو غذاء أساسي في المطبخ الصحراوي, على الرغم من قلة الفاكهة والخضروات (مثل التواريخ) يمكن زراعتها في واحات حول الصحراء, في حين تلعب اللحوم والألبان دورًا أكبر بكثير في النظام الغذائي لبدو الصحراء.

حليب الجمل متوفر على نطاق واسع وأطعمة مغذية للغاية تستخدم أيضًا في صنع الجبن. لحم الماعز, يشيع استخدام الحليب والجبن أيضًا في الأطباق. الهنود الحمر يعيشون في صحراء موهافي مصدر طعامهم في المقام الأول من الزراعة التي استكملوها بصيد الطرائد البرية الصغيرة.

هناك عدد قليل من الطعام النباتات والزهور التي تناسب البحث عن الطعام والصناعات البرية في الصحاري الأمريكية, مثل صبار التين الشوكي, التي تنتج فاكهة لذيذة مليئة بالعناصر الغذائية الأساسية.

الشعوب البدوية الرئيسية التي تعيش في الصحراء هي:

  • أمازيغ شمال إفريقيا, الذين يعيشون في صحراء المغرب, الجزائر, تونس وليبيا.
  • البجا, مجموعة عرقية من شمال شرق أفريقيا. البجا رعاة رحل يربون الجمال والأغنام, وكذلك الشركات الصغيرة.
  • بدو الصحارى العربية, الذين يكرسون أنفسهم لتربية الرحل في صحراء شبه الجزيرة العربية.
  • البدو الرحل في صحراء غوبي الذين يعيشون في صحراء كبيرة ومتنوعة مع الجبال والكثبان الرملية.
  • السكان الأصليون في أستراليا هم السكان الأصليون للقارة الخامسة.

في كثير من الصحاري, لحم الجمل و الجمل العربي, خروف, وفي صحراء جوبي أيضًا تستهلك الخيول والحمير بشكل عام. الأطعمة النموذجية الأخرى للنظام الغذائي البدوي هي حليب الحيوانات المستزرعة والأجبان التي يتم إنتاجها منها. الحبوب, مثل الدخن أو الأرز, هم أيضا أساس النظام الغذائي للعديد من القبائل البدوية.

الزراعة ممارسة مقصورة على الواحات, مناطق نباتية في وسط الصحراء حيث يمكن الزراعة وبفضل وجود الماء تزرع أشجار الفاكهة, تزرع الخضار والحبوب. من حين اخر كما يأكل سكان بعض الصحاري الخنافس, العناكب والعقارب, بعد حرمانهم من الأجزاء السامة.

للمشروبات, كما يستهلك الشاي بالإضافة إلى الماء, وتحظى بشعبية كبيرة في صحراء جوبي. يتم استهلاك النكهة بنكهة النعناع بشكل رئيسي من قبل أمازيغ المغرب. في الجزائر, من الشائع شرب القهوة في تونس وليبيا, وهي عادة منتشرة في شبه الجزيرة العربية.


أغذية في الصحراء

يمكنك إيجاد نباتات صالحة للأكل في الصحراء, بما في ذلك معظم أنواع الصبار (وسادات وفواكه), غبي, الصبار, شيا سيج, النخلة, قطيفة الصحراء, زبيب الصحراء, المسكيت, ويوكا. يمكنك أيضًا تناول الصنوبر من شجرة الصنوبر, وستكون المسامير الموجودة على اليوكا صالحة للأكل إذا قمت بشويها.

هناك أنواع مختلفة من حيوانات يمكنك اصطيادها في الصحراء. البعض منهم, مثل السحالي والثعابين, يجب طهيها جيدًا لأنها يمكن أن تحمل السالمونيلا. تجنب الصيد وحوش جيلا والسحالي المزخرفة بالخرز لأنها من الأنواع المعرضة للخطر (ناهيك عن السامة للغاية).

جميع أنواع الثعابين صالحة للأكل, حتى السامة, فقط قم بإزالة الرأس حيث يتم تخزين السم. يمكن أيضًا أن تؤكل الحشرات وهي مصدر جيد للبروتين. يمكن أيضًا اصطياد السلاحف والثدييات الصغيرة مثل الأرانب للحصول على الطعام. كل من الزواحف والطيور تقع أيضا البيض الذي يمكنك أن تجده وتستهلكه في الصحراء.

في حالة بقاء الصحراء, تسخير طاقة الشمس للطبخ. خلال النهار ، يمكنك جعل جانب مشمس لأعلى ببساطة عن طريق كسر بيضة على سطح صخرة إذا لم يكن لديك أي أدوات للطهي.


قائمة مراجعة أساسيات التخييم في الصحراء

رمز شعار Sand-boarding.com

مصدر المعلومات رقم 1 الخاص بك عن عالم الرياضات الرملية ورحلات المغامرات الصحراوية. مقالاتنا هي نتيجة بحث مكثف, خبرة شخصية, وتبادل المعرفة داخل مجتمع التزلج على الرمال العالمي.

Last Updated on October 30, 2023

Meal prepping for long stays in the desert comes with a few challenges: most foods will not last more than a couple of hours in the extreme heat without starting to spoil, and if you are camping in the desert chances are you won’t have access to a fridge or freezer unit (a portable desert cooler may still come handy though, gotta keep those beers fresh).

Even if you don’t feel like eating during the day, when temperatures drop sharply at night your body will start craving for calories to keep you warm, so don’t underestimate the importance of packing highly nutritious, energy-filled snacks.

Camping in the desert wilderness can be overwhelming, but if you have access to some basic cooking utensils, such as a camping boiler pot and portable stove, then you can easily give yourself access to a healthy, balanced diet even in the harshest of desert environments.

Make sure to bring with you a mix of canned and dry foods, but try to opt for low-sodium alternatives as high concentration of salt in your body may cause and worsen dehydration. If you are the more adventurous type, you could try finding food in the desert, but that’s gonna put your survival skills to the test.

As part of the Amazon Associate programme, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Eating in the desert: Dinner bonfire a desert camp.
Bonfire at a desert camp. Photo courtesy of Tomáš Malík

Best Food for Desert Camping & Backpacking

Instant Oatmeal

Instant oatmeal makes for a great and highly versatile breakfast option that only calls for some hot water or milk. You can use pretty much anything you wish for as a topping and have a filling, healthy meal that requires next to no preparation.

Featured: Quaker Instant Oatmeal

Desert Food: Instant Oatmeals

Low-Sodium Instant Noodles

Who doesn’t love how cheap and convenient instant noodles are? Make sure to opt for a reduced sodium option as you don’t want your food choices to keep you even more dehydrated in the desert.

Featured: Koyo Vegetable Vegan Ramen Soup

Desert Food: Instant Ramen Noodles

Canned Chili

Technically, any kind of canned soup or stew will do fine in the desert. But can you think of anything more earthy, filling and nutritious than a bowl of chilli con/sin carne? Whether you are into beef, are vegetarian , love beans or hate them, there’s a can of ready-made chilli for you out there.

Featured: Chilli Man Canned Chili With Beans

Desert Food: Canned Chili Stew

Mixed Nuts

The ultimate snack for hikers, nuts are a powerhouse of energy and nutrients that fit in your pocket. Mix together peanuts, walnuts, cashews, pumpkin seeds – throw some dates and dried berries if you crave something sweet and you are good to go.

Featured: Power Up Trail Mix Gourmet Nut Bag

Desert Food: Mixed Nuts

Dried Fruits

Fruits are an important source of vitamins but unfortunately their high water content makes them unsuitable for long stays in the desert. The solution? Dry them! Dried apples, bananas, apricots and pretty much any other fruit you can think of makes a great snack that can be stored in the harshest climate conditions. Pro tip: they make for great toppings for your breakfast oatmeal.

Featured: Oh! Nuts 18 Variety Nut & Dried Fruit Gift Basket

Desert Food: Dried Fruits

Beef Jerky

Just like with fruits, don’t forget to dry your proteins as well. Jerky comes in all shapes and colors these days (including vegan alternatives) and it’s great both as an on-the-go snack or added to your soups and noodles. The best options are always low in fat and salts.

Featured: Jack Link’s Beef Jerky, Original

Desert Food: Beef Jerky

Tea Time in the Desert
Tea time in the desert. Photo courtesy of Michele Benericetti.

Staying hydrated

Remember that hydration should always be your top priority when hiking in the desert. Not only what you drink, but also what you eat can help you replenish fluids, although if you opt for dried foods obviously you won’t get the same water intake as you would if you ate regular food such as fresh fruits and vegetables. Always aim at bringing at least 2-6 quarts (or liters) of water per person per day whenever you are venturing in the desert, and some more for backup in your vehicle.

Coconut water can help you fight dehydration by replenishing minerals in your body. Fluid replacement drinks filled with electrolytes are also a good option, just make sure not to overdo it with the sodium, which you’ll normally find in already high quantities in canned food and salted nuts. See also: desert survival tips.

Eating salt in the desert

You may have read elsewhere that salty food can actually help you fight dehydration, due to it helping your body retain water. This is only partially true and not a reason to stock up on salty food when travelling to hot weather destinations.

Yes, some amount of sodium is needed by your body and even more so when you are sweating a lot, but most foods (especially dry, processed foods that you are likely to eat in the desert) already contain very high quantity of sodium. Eating too much salt will actually worsen your dehydration, give you a cotton mouth, and increase your thirst, which is not ideal when you only have limited amounts of water on hand.

If you are worried about the possibility mineral depletion through excessive sweating, consider low-sodium sports drink like NOOMA Organic Electrolyte for your hike.

Alcohol and caffeine

Alcohol and caffeine can also contribute to dehydration and are best avoided in the desert. Drinking tea or coffee in hot weather is not ideal as it will make you sweat more, so if you feel the need for caffeine, it’s better to get your fix in the morning or evening when the weather is cooler.

On the other hand, it is best to avoid alcohol at all times in the desert – although it can be tempting to grab a fresh beer to cool down in the middle of the desert heat. If you decide to drink alcohol, make sure to alternate with water (and consider investing in a water cooler bag to keep your drinks fresh).


Child Riding a Camel
Camels are an important source of food for many desert communities in the Sahara.

Traditional desert nomad foods

Are you an adventurous type who wants to live like a bedouin? Desert nomads around the world have very specific diets tailored around what types of resources they can find around them.

Couscous is a staple food in Saharan cuisine, although very few fruits and vegetables (such as dates) can be grown in oases around the desert, while meat and dairy play a much bigger role in the desert nomad’s diet.

Camel milk is widely available and an extremely nutritious superfood also used to make cheese. Goat meat, milk and cheese are also popularly used in dishes. Native Americans living in the Mojave Desert primarily sourced their food from farming which they complemented by hunting small wild game.

There are a few edible plants and flowers that are suitable for foraging and wildcrafting in the American deserts, such as the prickly pear cactus, which produces a delicious fruit filled with essential nutrients.

The main nomadic peoples inhabiting the desert are:

  • The Berbers of North Africa, who live in the desert of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia and Libya.
  • The Beja, an ethnic group of northeastern Africa. The Beja are nomadic shepherds who raise camels and sheep, as well as small businesses.
  • The nomads of the Arab deserts, who are dedicated to transhumant breeding in the deserts of the Arabian Peninsula.
  • The nomads of the Gobi desert who live in a very large and diverse desert with mountains and sand dunes.
  • The Aborigines in Australia who are the indigenous inhabitants of the fifth continent.

In many deserts, camel and dromedary meat, sheep, and in the Gobi desert also horses and donkeys are generally consumed. Other typical foods of the nomadic diet are the milk of farmed animals and the cheeses that are produced from them. Cereals, such as millet or rice, are also the basis of the diet of many nomadic tribes.

Agriculture is a practice limited to the oases, vegetated areas in the middle of the desert where it is possible to cultivate and thanks to the presence of water fruit trees are planted, vegetables and cereals are grown. Occasionally the inhabitants of some deserts also eat beetles, spiders and scorpions, after having deprived them of the poisonous parts.

For drinks, tea is also consumed in addition to water, and it is very popular in the Gobi desert. The mint flavored one is consumed mainly by the Berbers of Morocco. In Algeria, Tunisia and Libya it is common to drink coffee, a custom also widespread in the Arabian Peninsula.


Foods in the Desert

You can find edible plants in the desert, including most species of cactus (pads and fruits), abal, agave, chia sage, date palm, desert amaranth, desert raisin, mesquite, and yucca. You can also eat pine nuts from a pinyon pine tree, and the spikes on yucca will be edible if you grill them.

There are different types of animals you can hunt for food in a desert. Some of them, like lizards and snakes, should be cooked thoroughly because they can carry salmonella. Avoid hunting Gila monsters and beaded lizards because they are vulnerable species (not to mention extremely venomous).

All types of snake are edible, even the venomous ones, just remove the head where the venom is stored. Insects can also be eaten and are a good source of protein. Turtles and small mammals such as hares can also be hunted for food. Both reptiles and birds also lay eggs which you can find and consume in the desert.

In a desert survival situation, harness the power of the sun for cooking. During the day you can make a sunny side up by simply cracking an egg on the surface of a rock if you don’t have any cooking utensils.

Below, a list of 10 sources of food you can find in a desert:

  1. Jackrabbits: These animals can be hunted for their meat, which is lean and high in protein. They are usually found in areas with scrub and brush, and can be trapped or shot for food.
  2. Rattlesnakes: While not for the faint of heart, rattlesnakes can be eaten and are a good source of protein. They can be hunted or caught with the right equipment and prepared carefully to avoid poisoning.
  3. Lizards: Various species of lizards can be found in the desert and make for a good source of protein. They can be caught with traps or snares, or hunted with a BB gun or other small-caliber firearm.
  4. Cactus: The prickly pear cactus is a common sight in many desert environments, and the fruit and pads can be eaten raw or cooked. The fruit is sweet and juicy, while the pads can be sliced and cooked like a vegetable.
  5. Mesquite beans: The mesquite tree produces a bean that can be ground into flour or roasted and eaten as a snack. The beans are high in protein and can be found in many desert regions.
  6. Agave: Agave plants can be found in many desert regions, and they have several edible parts. The hearts of the agave plant, called piñas, can be roasted and eaten, while the sap from the agave can be fermented into a drink called pulque.
  7. Desert berries: Various types of berries can be found in the desert, including the chokecherry, elderberry, and wolfberry. These can be eaten raw or used in recipes.
  8. Quail: Gambel’s quail and scaled quail are two species found in rocky deserts of the Southwest. Their eggs are small and speckled, but are considered a delicacy by many.
  9. Roadrunner: These birds are known for their speed and are found in arid regions of the Southwest. Their eggs are large and have a greenish tint, and are said to taste similar to chicken eggs.
  10. Desert bighorn sheep: The desert bighorn sheep is a type of sheep that is found in desert regions throughout the western United States and Mexico. It is a good source of protein, and it can be hunted and cooked in a variety of ways. However, hunting of this species is heavily regulated and requires a special permit.

Desert Camping Essentials Checklist

Sand-boarding.com logo icon

Your n°1 source of information on the world of sandsports and desert adventure travel. Our articles are the result of extensive research, personal experience, and knowledge-sharing within the global sandboarding community.