最后更新于八月 4, 2022

听说过 蓬勃发展的沙丘? 有时, 在沙漠的寂静中, 可以听到沙丘的声音. 随风吹或因践踏, 实际上, 这 沙丘“唱歌”: 它们发出非常独特的声音, 因沙粒大小而异.

有不同类型的沙丘, 而这种罕见的现象只有在满足一定的环境条件时才会出现, 这就是为什么 只有部分沙丘被称为“会唱歌的沙丘”, 并且可以在世界各地的不同国家找到.

唱歌 / 蓬勃发展的沙丘

什么是唱歌沙?

“唱沙”现象 (或“蓬勃发展的沙子”) 几个世纪以来一直是人们感兴趣的话题. 它让马可波罗在他的旅行中着迷,并引起了查尔斯·达尔文的兴趣, 谁提到遇到一个 唱歌沙丘 在他前往智利的旅行账户中.

直到 19 世纪后期,才有科学观察揭示了沙漠的声音: 第一的, 并非所有沙丘都会唱歌, 但所有做的都是干的, 致密砂. 第二个, 当沙子从沙丘一侧滑下时,声音会自发产生, 通常是由于风活动. 此外, 而一些沙丘能够发出高达 110 以明确定义的频率分贝, 其他人一次投几个音符——这意味着, 每个沙丘真的有自己的“声音”.

为什么有些沙丘会唱歌

大多数沙丘可以在特定的天气和环境条件下唱歌. 最大的沙丘更有可能成为歌唱沙丘,因为它们的表面在下午变得非常热,因此非常干燥. 其他 (例如, 这 10,000 构成阿尤恩周围大西洋撒哈拉沙漠的新月形沙丘, 摩洛哥) 只有当太阳能够晒干沙丘表面时才能歌唱, 对于越来越小的沙丘来说,这越来越难以实现.

最后, 有些沙丘从不唱歌 (比如法国的皮拉沙丘). 它们通常不是由风成的 (风吹) 粒度分布窄的砂, 但是由于在碰撞中的锤击导致光滑的圆形形状和未抛光的表面. 红外光谱表明,发声颗粒可以被特征硅胶层覆盖, 在加湿和干燥循环中形成. 仍然, 这层的作用目前还没找到. 而且, 没有人成功地生产出人工唱歌沙, 例如从工业玻璃珠或河沙开始.

唱歌的沙子听起来像什么?

在 1298, 马可波罗将沙丘的“歌唱”描述为各种乐器的声音——而且更普通, 鼓——充满空气. 这响亮的声音, 最多可以听到 10 公里外, 类似于雾喇叭或低空双引擎喷气机的声音.

沙丘之歌.

在哪里可以找到歌唱沙丘?

全球有几个选择可以观察到沙丘蓬勃发展的现象. 最著名的沙丘之一是 阿库姆盾 (点亮. “歌唱沙丘) 位于阿拉木图附近的阿尔金-埃梅尔国家公园, 哈萨克斯坦. 可以观察到这种现象的其他沙丘是科罗拉多州的大沙丘, 埃及撒哈拉沙漠的 Gebel Naqous, 蒙古戈壁沙漠中的孔戈林, 和中国的明哈沙丘.

歌唱沙丘 - 哈萨克斯坦

全球歌唱沙丘列表

  • 凯尔索沙丘——加利福尼亚, 我们
  • 尤里卡沙丘——加利福尼亚, 我们
  • 大沙丘——科罗拉多, 我们
  • 印第安纳沙丘 - 印第安纳州, 我们
  • Barking Sands – 夏威夷, 我们
  • 沃伦沙丘——密歇根, 我们
  • Ming Sha Shan dunes – Dunhuang, 中国
  • Gebel Naquous – 南西奈, 埃及
  • 琴滨海滩沙丘——日本
  • 猿森沙丘——日本
  • 阿库姆盾 (歌唱沙丘) – 阿拉木图, 哈萨克斯坦
  • Khongoryn Els – 戈壁沙漠, 蒙古
  • 冷门 (呼啸金沙) – 阿伯达隆, 威尔士

另请阅读: 沙艺, 从雕塑到绘画

发表评论

Last Updated on August 4, 2022

Ever heard of booming sand dunes? Sometimes, in the silence of the desert, the voice of the dunes can be heard. As the wind blows or as a result of trampling, in fact, the dunes “sing”: they emit very distinct sounds, different depending on the size of the grains of sand.

There are different types of dunes, and this rare phenomenon can only occur when certain environmental conditions are met, which is why only some dunes are known as “singing sand dunes”, and can be found in different countries across the world.

Singing / Booming Sand Dunes

What is singing sand?

The phenomenon of “singing sand” (or “booming sand”) has been a subject of interest for centuries. It fascinated Marco Polo during his travels and intrigued Charles Darwin, who mentioned encountering a singing sand dune during in his travel accounts to Chile.

It was not until the late 19th century have scientific observations been made that shed light on the voice of the desert: first, not all dunes sing, but all those that do are composed of dry, compact sand. And second, the sound is spontaneously generated when sand slides down a dune’s side, usually due to wind activity. In addition, while some dunes have the capacity to emit a sound of up to 110 decibels at a well-defined frequency, others pitch several notes at once – which means, each dune really has its own “voice”.

Why some dunes sing

Most dunes can sing in particular weather and environmental conditions. The largest dunes are more likely to qualify as singing dunes as their surface becomes very hot in the afternoon and thus very dry. Others (for instance, the 10,000 barchan dunes that compose the Atlantic Sahara desert around Laayoune, Morocco) may sing only if the sun has been able to dry the dune surface, which is more and more difficult to achieve for smaller and smaller dunes.

Finally, some dunes never sing (such as the Pyla dune in France). They are usually not composed of eolian (windblown) sand that is characterized by a narrow particle-size distribution, but by a smooth rounded shape and by an unpolished surface due to the hammering in the collisions. Infrared spectroscopy has suggested that sound-producing grains could be covered by a characteristic silica-gel layer, formed during cycles of humidification and dry-out. Still, the role of this layer has not been found so far. Moreover, nobody has succeeded in producing artificial singing sand, starting for instance from industrial glass beads or river sand.

What does singing sand sound like?

In 1298, Marco Polo described the “singing” of a dune as the sounds of all kinds of musical instruments — and more ordinary, drums — filling the air. This loud sound, which can be heard up to 10 km away, resembles the sound of a foghorn or of a low-flying twin-engined jet.

The song of the dunes.

Where can you find singing dunes?

There are a few selection across the globe where you can observe the phenomenon of booming sand dunes. One of the most famous dunes is Akkum-Kalkan (lit. “singing dune) located in the the Altyn-Emel National Park near Almaty, Kazakhstan. Other dunes where this phenomenon can be observed are the Great Sand Dunes in Colorado, the Gebel Naqous in Egypt’s Sahara desert, the Khongoryn Els in the Gobi desert of Mongolia, and the Mingha Sand Dunes in China.

Singing Sand Dune - Kazakhstan

List of Singing Sand Dunes worldwide

  • Kelso Dunes – California, US
  • Eureka Dunes – California, US
  • Great Sand Dunes – Colorado, US
  • Indiana Dunes – Indiana, US
  • Barking Sands – Hawaii, US
  • Warren Dunes – Michigan, US
  • Ming Sha Shan dunes – Dunhuang, China
  • Gebel Naquous – South Sinai, Egypt
  • Kotogahama Beach Dunes – Japan
  • Sarugamori Sand Dunes – Japan
  • Akkum-kalkan (Singing Dune) – Almaty, Kazakhstan
  • Khongoryn Els – Gobi Desert, Mongolia
  • Porth Oer (Whistling Sands) – Aberdaron, Wales

Read also: Sand Art, From Sculptures to Painting

Leave a Reply