آخر تحديث في أغسطس 4, 2022

سمعت عن ازدهار الكثبان الرملية? بعض الأحيان, في صمت الصحراء, يمكن سماع صوت الكثبان الرملية. عندما تهب الرياح أو نتيجة الدوس, في الواقع, ال الكثبان الرملية "تغني": تصدر أصواتًا مميزة جدًا, تختلف حسب حجم حبات الرمل.

هناك أنواع مختلفة من الكثبان الرملية, وهذه الظاهرة النادرة يمكن أن تحدث فقط عند استيفاء شروط بيئية معينة, وهذا هو السبب فقط بعض الكثبان الرملية معروفة باسم "غناء الكثبان الرملية", ويمكن العثور عليها في بلدان مختلفة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

الغناء / ازدهار الكثبان الرملية

ما هو غناء الرمل?

ال ظاهرة "الرمل الغنائي" (أو "الرمل الصرير") كان موضوع اهتمام لعدة قرون. لقد فتنت ماركو بولو خلال رحلاته وأذهلت تشارلز داروين, الذي ذكر مواجهة أ غناء الكثبان الرملية خلال حسابات سفره إلى تشيلي.

لم يتم إجراء ملاحظات علمية حتى أواخر القرن التاسع عشر لإلقاء الضوء على صوت الصحراء: أول, لا تغني كل الكثبان الرملية, لكن كل تلك التي تفعل تتكون من الجافة, رمل مضغوط. والثانية, يتولد الصوت تلقائيًا عندما تنزلق الرمال أسفل جانب الكثبان الرملية, عادة بسبب نشاط الرياح. بالإضافة الى, في حين أن بعض الكثبان الرملية لديها القدرة على إصدار صوت يصل إلى 110 ديسيبل على تردد محدد جيدًا, يقدم آخرون عدة ملاحظات دفعة واحدة - مما يعني, كل الكثبان الرملية لها حقًا "صوتها".

لماذا تغني بعض الكثبان الرملية

يمكن لمعظم الكثبان أن تغني في ظروف مناخية وبيئية معينة. من المرجح أن تتأهل أكبر الكثبان الرملية ككثبان غنائية حيث يصبح سطحها شديد الحرارة في فترة ما بعد الظهر وبالتالي يكون جافًا جدًا. آحرون (على سبيل المثال, ال 10,000 كثبان Barchan التي تشكل الصحراء الأطلسية حول العيون, المغرب) قد يغني فقط إذا تمكنت الشمس من تجفيف سطح الكثبان الرملية, وهو أمر يصعب تحقيقه أكثر فأكثر بالنسبة للكثبان الرملية الأصغر والأصغر.

أخيراً, بعض الكثبان الرملية لا تغني أبدًا (مثل كثبان بيلا في فرنسا). عادة لا تتكون من eolian (الرياح) الرمل الذي يتميز بتوزيع ضيق لحجم الجسيمات, ولكن بشكل دائري أملس وسطح غير مصقول بسبب الطرق في الاصطدامات. اقترح التحليل الطيفي بالأشعة تحت الحمراء أن الحبوب المنتجة للصوت يمكن تغطيتها بطبقة مميزة من هلام السيليكا, تشكلت خلال دورات الترطيب والجفاف. ما يزال, لم يتم العثور على دور هذه الطبقة حتى الآن. علاوة على ذلك, لم ينجح أحد في إنتاج رمال غنائية اصطناعية, تبدأ على سبيل المثال من الخرز الزجاجي الصناعي أو رمال النهر.

ماذا يشبه صوت الرمل الغناء?

في 1298, وصف ماركو بولو "غناء" الكثبان الرملية بأنها أصوات جميع أنواع الآلات الموسيقية - وأكثر شيوعًا, براميل - تملأ الهواء. هذا الصوت العالي, والتي يمكن سماعها حتى 10 كم, يشبه صوت ضباب أو طائرة نفاثة ذات محركين منخفضين.

اغنية الكثبان.

أين يمكنك أن تجد غناء الكثبان?

هناك عدد قليل من الاختيارات في جميع أنحاء العالم حيث يمكنك ملاحظة ظاهرة ازدهار الكثبان الرملية. واحدة من أشهر الكثبان الرملية هي أكوم شيلد (أشعل. "غناء الكثبان الرملية") يقع في حديقة Altyn-Emel الوطنية بالقرب من ألماتي, كازاخستان. الكثبان الرملية الأخرى التي يمكن ملاحظة هذه الظاهرة فيها هي الكثبان الرملية العظيمة في كولورادو, جبل ناقوس في صحراء مصر, خونغورن إلس في صحراء جوبي في منغوليا, وكثبان مينغا الرملية في الصين.

غناء الكثبان الرملية - كازاخستان

قائمة غناء الكثبان الرملية في جميع أنحاء العالم

  • كيلسو ديونز - كاليفورنيا, نحن
  • يوريكا ديونز - كاليفورنيا, نحن
  • كثبان الرمال العظيمة - كولورادو, نحن
  • إنديانا ديونز - إنديانا, نحن
  • باركينج ساندز - هاواي, نحن
  • وارن ديونز - ميشيغان, نحن
  • كثبان مينغ شا شان - دونهوانغ, الصين
  • جبل نقوس - جنوب سيناء, مصر
  • كوتوجااما بيتش ديونز - اليابان
  • كثبان ساروجاموري الرملية - اليابان
  • درع Akkum (الغناء الكثيب) - ألماتي, كازاخستان
  • خونجورن إلس - صحراء جوبي, منغوليا
  • البوابة الباردة (صفير الرمال) - ابردارون, ويلز

اقرأ أيضا: فن الرمل, من المنحوتات إلى الرسم

اترك رد

Last Updated on August 4, 2022

Ever heard of booming sand dunes? Sometimes, in the silence of the desert, the voice of the dunes can be heard. As the wind blows or as a result of trampling, in fact, the dunes “sing”: they emit very distinct sounds, different depending on the size of the grains of sand.

There are different types of dunes, and this rare phenomenon can only occur when certain environmental conditions are met, which is why only some dunes are known as “singing sand dunes”, and can be found in different countries across the world.

Singing / Booming Sand Dunes

What is singing sand?

The phenomenon of “singing sand” (or “booming sand”) has been a subject of interest for centuries. It fascinated Marco Polo during his travels and intrigued Charles Darwin, who mentioned encountering a singing sand dune during in his travel accounts to Chile.

It was not until the late 19th century have scientific observations been made that shed light on the voice of the desert: first, not all dunes sing, but all those that do are composed of dry, compact sand. And second, the sound is spontaneously generated when sand slides down a dune’s side, usually due to wind activity. In addition, while some dunes have the capacity to emit a sound of up to 110 decibels at a well-defined frequency, others pitch several notes at once – which means, each dune really has its own “voice”.

Why some dunes sing

Most dunes can sing in particular weather and environmental conditions. The largest dunes are more likely to qualify as singing dunes as their surface becomes very hot in the afternoon and thus very dry. Others (for instance, the 10,000 barchan dunes that compose the Atlantic Sahara desert around Laayoune, Morocco) may sing only if the sun has been able to dry the dune surface, which is more and more difficult to achieve for smaller and smaller dunes.

Finally, some dunes never sing (such as the Pyla dune in France). They are usually not composed of eolian (windblown) sand that is characterized by a narrow particle-size distribution, but by a smooth rounded shape and by an unpolished surface due to the hammering in the collisions. Infrared spectroscopy has suggested that sound-producing grains could be covered by a characteristic silica-gel layer, formed during cycles of humidification and dry-out. Still, the role of this layer has not been found so far. Moreover, nobody has succeeded in producing artificial singing sand, starting for instance from industrial glass beads or river sand.

What does singing sand sound like?

In 1298, Marco Polo described the “singing” of a dune as the sounds of all kinds of musical instruments — and more ordinary, drums — filling the air. This loud sound, which can be heard up to 10 km away, resembles the sound of a foghorn or of a low-flying twin-engined jet.

The song of the dunes.

Where can you find singing dunes?

There are a few selection across the globe where you can observe the phenomenon of booming sand dunes. One of the most famous dunes is Akkum-Kalkan (lit. “singing dune) located in the the Altyn-Emel National Park near Almaty, Kazakhstan. Other dunes where this phenomenon can be observed are the Great Sand Dunes in Colorado, the Gebel Naqous in Egypt’s Sahara desert, the Khongoryn Els in the Gobi desert of Mongolia, and the Mingha Sand Dunes in China.

Singing Sand Dune - Kazakhstan

List of Singing Sand Dunes worldwide

  • Kelso Dunes – California, US
  • Eureka Dunes – California, US
  • Great Sand Dunes – Colorado, US
  • Indiana Dunes – Indiana, US
  • Barking Sands – Hawaii, US
  • Warren Dunes – Michigan, US
  • Ming Sha Shan dunes – Dunhuang, China
  • Gebel Naquous – South Sinai, Egypt
  • Kotogahama Beach Dunes – Japan
  • Sarugamori Sand Dunes – Japan
  • Akkum-kalkan (Singing Dune) – Almaty, Kazakhstan
  • Khongoryn Els – Gobi Desert, Mongolia
  • Porth Oer (Whistling Sands) – Aberdaron, Wales

Read also: Sand Art, From Sculptures to Painting

Leave a Reply